What do you use for mastering your tracks?

Klangboks

ill o.g.
Hi!
What do you prefer when (and if) you use third-party plugins for mastering? I use Cubase for music-production, but don't think the included limiter does a proper job.
Does any of you have some advice about what I should by? I've tried demo-versions of T-racks 3 Deluxe and Izotope Ozone. I prefered the T-racks, it gave the most "character". And also made the tracks really loud :)

So please, if you have experience with other plugs, can you post a mini-review?
Thanks!

thedreampolice

A backwards poet writes inverse.
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 21
Mastering is such a different skill set that you REALLY need to pay someone else to do it. I have been a mix engineer for over ten years and I just mastered my first album. I think it turned out great. I used Presonus studio one to set up the projects, and the Sonnox oxford EQ followed by the PSP VintageWarmer2, then the SSL G Series EQ292 from waves and finally Voxengo Elephant. I used these on each track and spent easily a few hours per song on mastering. I also used lots of the techniques from this video http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MPPTMaster/

Mitch is brilliant and really does a good job breaking it down. You can hear the album I mastered here. http://drunkpedestrians.bandcamp.com/album/i-am-the-soundtrack

But if I had not been mixing for years and have a very nice speaker system, there is no way I would have even tried to master this myself. I have paid someone to master my projects for years.

Klangboks

ill o.g.
thedreampolice: I totally agree that mastering an album should be left to professionals. However, I enjoy trying to master my own tracks (even though I'm not very good at it). And I don't have a record deal or anything that will make it worthwhile to pay someone else :). As long as I can get my songs out there with decent quality I'm more than happy.