New Equipment

OnQ

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 186
Hey all,

I've been producing hip-hop beats for about 2 years now, mainly as a hobby, but am getting more and more serious about it. I've been running Pro Tools on my MacBook Pro with a Digi 002 console. I'm interested in investing in some turntables so I can expand my producing abilities just that much more. I don't know very much about turntables, but I'm pretty sure I want a setup that can use vinyl as well as mp3's. My price range is anything up to about $800. Ultimately I want to be able to use them in the recording process and also live. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-OnQ

LDB

Banned
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 73
Hey all,

I've been producing hip-hop beats for about 2 years now, mainly as a hobby, but am getting more and more serious about it. I've been running Pro Tools on my MacBook Pro with a Digi 002 console. I'm interested in investing in some turntables so I can expand my producing abilities just that much more. I don't know very much about turntables, but I'm pretty sure I want a setup that can use vinyl as well as mp3's. My price range is anything up to about $800. Ultimately I want to be able to use them in the recording process and also live. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-OnQ

$800 probably won't be enough unless you cop some used tables. Serato by itself can run you between $540 and $570 http://www.serato.com/

Virtual DJ is $299 minus the vinyl and sound card. Initially I bought VDJ, $299, a Behringer BCD3000 midi controller $200(had a built in sound card-most midi controllers don't), Some Staton turntables and additional $400 and two time coded vinyl records $30,Gator turntable bags $168. Eventually I cop'd a better midi controller$499 and because I had to now use and external audio interface I spent another $400 because you'll have to get one with dual phono amp inputs.

As you can see $800 didn't quite get it!

OnQ

ILLIEN
ill o.g.