Is production school REALLY neccessary?

Myself and the few BIG mainstream producers know are all self taught. Then I see friends ripping their hair out for degrees in the field...are all those hrs and all that tuition $ money REALLY make a difference. I had a friend who is a student ask me what a node was. I almost died. Wtf r they teaching ppl?? Smh what do u think?

thedreampolice

A backwards poet writes inverse.
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 21
and a bunch of mainstream producers have music degrees. IDK its tuff. I studied at Berklee college of music and it made a huge difference. Even though I had YEARS of studio and touring experience going in, it really took me to the next level. I think both are valid. But WTF is a node? Are you talking about a Logic Node?? Not sure.

Cleverwon

Paradigm P
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 74
I think she meant note.

No I meant nodes for automation...and yes I think it's a Logic thing.

P.S. I went to school for music theory but never finished.... I also dropped outta fashion design school. Heehee

Formant024

Digital Smokerings
ill o.g.
For production, not since the existence of daw's/computers but it could help some speed up the process

For mixing, recording yes, most people dont have acces to a complete studio like educations have which is a big deal.

Nodes in automation are the points in the graphical line where you make changes in the automation channel.

"Logic node" is also a piece of software you could install on another mac in your network to run native logic plugins from so you could free up cpu on the machine that runs logic itself

Formant024

Digital Smokerings
ill o.g.
vector mixing ? i only know that as a function controller for modulars similar to xy pads but with with several crosspoints or the way yamaha implemented it in the sy-35 etc or korg wavestation also uses vector synthesis.

but yeah, obviously you could call those cross points nodes too

Greg Savage

Ehh Fuck you
ill o.g.