Backup UR SH!T!!!!!!!! reminder!!!!!!!!!

bluchippa5

Golden Ear
ill o.g.
I thought I'd help u poor chaps out while getting some help of my own in the same breath....I'm doing you a favor by reminding all of you sorry sacks to backup, backup, and backup...I'm fishin for any tips I should know before I backup my PC with dvd-r's...I've heard stories of people losing data in the process of backin up their pc...Any warnings???? I kind of got a jist of how to do it, this is my first time doing this...

Nevermind, I googled how to backup a cpu....BACKUP UR SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!

O

open mind

bluchippa5 said:
I thought I'd help u poor chaps out while getting some help of my own in the same breath....I'm doing you a favor by reminding all of you sorry sacks to backup, backup, and backup...I'm fishin for any tips I should know before I backup my PC with dvd-r's...I've heard stories of people losing data in the process of backin up their pc...Any warnings???? I kind of got a jist of how to do it, this is my first time doing this...

Nevermind, I googled how to backup a cpu....BACKUP UR SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!
thanks for the reminder.

ill o.g.
This is basically my maintenance routine:
1. External <---> Laptop
2. Burn to CD
3. Virus & adware scan
4. Defragment
5. chkdsk
6. sfc /scannow

The last two are good because they make sure your hard disk and Windows folders are intact. Run them through your command prompt.

adomav17

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
sounds like a good plan^... the only thing is what are those two last things, just wonderin because i havent heard of them

ill o.g.
adomav17 said:
sounds like a good plan^... the only thing is what are those two last things, just wonderin because i havent heard of them
They're basically functions you call up through your Windows command prompt...Click start, run, and enter "command." I'm not a computer engineer, but this is my basic understanding of what they do...