Soundforge or Adobe Audition...

bluchippa5

Golden Ear
ill o.g.
I've read the specs on both, and from viewing various forums, it seems soundforge comes up more often than Audition(cool edit pro) does. I use reason 2.5 and ableton live 4 on occasion when working with my production partner. Just trying to find which program is good for phrase sampling to dump in the nn-xt or nn-19. i'm kinda new to sampling.

bhunt

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
you really don't need to spend that much if you just want to sample. There is a free program called auducity, that can do the same thing and it has some good options. Since adobe auditon is rewire compatible now you can use it to rewire reason into there and get multitracks of your songs and use VST effects in them. Soundforge is real good for you, but audition fits my needs more

bluchippa5

Golden Ear
ill o.g.
I have audicity and actually pulled off my first sample this week dumping a Jacskson Five loop into the nn-xt. It works wonderfully. I guess I was checkin on all the extras each program obviously offers since people would rather buy them versus using a free program like audacity. Just not sure how those add'l options would enhance my production or setup. That's really what I'm looking to compare.

Sanova

Guess Who's Back
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 9
Cool edit/Audition. All you have to do is zoom in.. thats where people begin to think the wave editing is inaccurate. Audition fits all my needs.

bluchippa5

Golden Ear
ill o.g.
Thanks Fade, and everyone else for your input. I guess the final say all will take me to download the demo version of each-

Sanova

Guess Who's Back
ill o.g.
I say try both and see which you like. theyre both freely available on the net if you wanna try before u buy.

Shwaz

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Audition FIRMLY. You have to buy all the filters separately in sound forge. Audition comes with a whole gang of shit that is pretty high level. Noise reduction and all sorts of other useful shit. DEFFINTLY go with Audition.