Reason, Redrum, & Pattern Changing

Bosta

Hi Joka
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 3
Im new to reason and I want to know how to switch b/w different patterns in my beats. Ive been a fl user for about 4 years and im trying to learn more about reason......

TIA
Bosta

BeAtArKiTeK

"Only God Can Judge Me"
ill o.g.
If you mean on the redrum then you have to make sure your redrums is selected and then you record it .... For example say u got a pattern on sequence 1 and 2 on the redrum, ur on ur first one , so u hit record and when u want the 2nd one to hit u press # 2 on the redrum while recording.

Shwaz

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
If you are talking about switching between patterns in general, the number pad to the left of the RedDrum sequencer is where the patterns are stored. Each number is capable of holding a pattern. Click on the number 1, create a pattern. Then click on number 2 create another pattern. Click run. Now if you click on the number 1 it plays the first pattern you created and if you click on 2 it creates the second pattern.

If you are talking about getting those patterns into the Reason Sequencer at the bottom so the pattern changes while your track plays, thats diffrent. In the Reason sequencer there are two guides, when says L and one says R. Put the L where you want the first pattern to start and the R where you want the first pattern to end. At the left of the sequencer are all of the tracks/instruments you are using, click on the RedDrum Go back up to the actual RedDrum. Have the first pattern selected. Then Right click on the reddrum and halfway down the pop up menu it should say copy pattern to track. This will copy the first pattern between the L and the R. Now repeat for the next pattern. Hope this helps

-Shwaz

CampO

BEAT u DOWN
ill o.g.
K basically move your L and R 4 bars apart then add pattern 1 then move your L and R to another empty 4 bars and add pattern 2 then move your L and R to another empty 4 bars and add pattern 3