I Need A Favor

Sacred One

I Am One Of God Producers
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 25
I am about to lease out two beats, but they talkin about pressing 25,000 copies.

So what i am asking from my illmuzik brothers is a contract where i would get royalties after so many presses, they only wanna lease, i would surely appreciate it.

StressWon

www.stress1.com
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 68
It all depends. Personally, if they are unsigned and spendin their own dough on pressin that money, you should look at it from that aspect and decide accordingly. If it's an up and coming indie label, I would consider royalties. I think your best bet is to sit down with them and have a meeting. As far as the business aspect, there are mad more members here that can help. I'm not too experienced in this, but hoped I helped man....1

LDB

Banned
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 73
how much royalties, should I charge? I never did this before

Leasing it at a monetary rate is cool, but allowing them so many units pressed(25,000) is a bit much IMO. If it were me, I'd charge them what ever rate you charged them initially per 5k or10k units pressed. Now if they end up getting a deal and wish to include your track on there album, it's the standard 50/50 split. 50% of the song is the lyrics, 50% of the song is the music. Of course you would have to negotiate a smaller percentage than that because the label will probably want most of the publishing. I'd just put in the contract that royalties will be renegotiated should the artist sign a record deal. There is the chance that if they're offered a deal they won't even use your track so try and get a little more money now ahead of time.

I.E. if you charged them say 1k per track. make that 1k per 10k units pressed! The problem you'll probably run into is not having a way to keep track of how many they press up. You could also do a sliding scale deal with them if the secure a record deal based on the amount of units they sale.