How to sample

P.Noccio

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 5
In the last showcase there was a discussion about what DAW u should use for composing or for sampling.. I'm a composer and I work with FL, but FL seemed to be better for samples than for composing.. Today I was watching Stevie Wonder videos on youtube and then I saw this song named That girl and it sounded pretty easy to sample.. So I tried to work with a sample.. When I started I didn't know what to do.. so I just chopped the song (probably in a harder way than neccesary) and pasted it in the same order as the original song, put a pella over it to listen what it would sound like.. I made this out of it:
(you can stop listening till the first chorus
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=670306&songID=6776274
It sounds allright, but I want to give it more of myself.. how do y'all do that?
Find out what tones are used and play some yourself or only mess with the sample?
peace

I cant sample a track without adding extra composition to make it my own.
Whether its taking a sample and composing with that(ie long string sample) or using synths to compose with, its neither here nor there, the process is pretty much the same.
Load patch or sample, play, tweak, play, tweak.......record, tweak some more then add fx to taste.
I think your composition ability will help you out a lot. Find the key of the sample, then mess around in the scale according to that key, using your ears for what sounds right. Thats my method anyway, in a nutshell.
For as many producers there are there are as many methods to go with them.
Thats just one method.
When sampling try to get the chops as clean as humanly possible, no clicks or distortions and synced up nicely.

P.Noccio

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 5