Maschine Mk1 Controller Help!!

  1. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332
    So, I recently just bought a second hand Maschine MK1, included is the software and Komplete. I installed and updated everything, but when i plugged the controller in, it only blinked twice, the second one longer than the first. no Maschine Logo or anything on the screen, no lights either. i didnt pay this any mind the first time since i didnt have the software open, but it stayed the same even with the software open.

    I tried troubleshooting, re installing the control driver as i saw on the website but hasnt solved the problem, since it always fails when i do.

    I also tried changing the cable. and still no luck.

    is there anyone that has encountered the same problem? or if you guys have any ideas on how i could fix the problem i would definitely appreciate it. :(
     
  2. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
    You need to upgrade to the latest version of the maschine software.
     
  3. Fade

    Fade

    VIP Member
    Beat Scientist
    Administrator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Posts:
    14,169
    What version do you have?
    Does the software run okay?
    It just blinks then goes dead?
    You don't see anything on the screens?
     
  4. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
    Sorry I was on my phone before and could not elaborate. The hardware updates come with the Maschine software and since NI JUST updated the Maschine software make double sure it is up to date! Let us know if it works or not.
     
  5. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332
    ** I have updated every software connected to maschine, the version would be 1.8.2
    ** the software runs okay, i tried playing the loops and it plays fine.
    ** Yes, while sticking the usb causes it to flash once, then 5-6 seconds of nothing then lights up for 3 seconds then goes dead.
    ** not a thing after the two blinks...:(

    ** I made sure everything was updated, from service center to the website, :(


    What i can pinpoint as a problem is when i do this>>

    http://www.native-instruments.com/e...-computer-does-not-recognize-a-usb-device-pc/

    when i get to step 4 my controller shows up on the USB devices with an exclamation mark. so i tried the next steps but when i get to step 8 the loading/installing fails.

    it says "We have found the update to your device but there was an error on installing" (not exactly the right words, but the gist is there) :(:confused::mad::eek:
     
  6. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
    Maschine is up to version 2.1 so it's not up to date. You can try a different USB post but get up to date first.
     
  7. Fade

    Fade

    VIP Member
    Beat Scientist
    Administrator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Posts:
    14,169
    Ya that definitely is a driver issue then. Did you try downloading the driver from NI and using that one? I've had a few issues with the driver, I had to go back to an older one (I had slight clicks/pops).

    I'm running driver version 2.9.4.433
     
  8. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332


    i dont think that version is free? plus the controller is supposed to work even without that update..


    I did, downloaded it, removed controller, installed it, restart boot, plugged in controller opened software (no change)
    also did download, removed controller installed, opened software, then plugged it. still no change, tried every variation that could/might fix it.

    how do i get a later issue of the driver?

    my laptop is HP Pavilion DV6 / Win 7 - 64 bit
    maschine software is running on 32 bit.

    #moreinfo
    #missed the competition again
    #nosleep
    #F*CK im doing hashtags?
     
  9. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
    I have seen LOTS of maschine controllers not work right on some older versions. You should be able to find a version for free ;)
     
  10. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332
  11. Fade

    Fade

    VIP Member
    Beat Scientist
    Administrator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Posts:
    14,169
    Ok so it came with what version of the software? What version of the driver?

    Did you try another USB port on your laptop?
     
  12. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
  13. Fade

    Fade

    VIP Member
    Beat Scientist
    Administrator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Posts:
    14,169
    Ya but it's stupid, he shouldn't have to go with 2.0. 1.8.2 should work no problem.

    Did the person you bought it from have any issues?
     
  14. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332
    im not really sure what version it was originally from but it says here that its KOMPLETE ELEMENTS MK2 Maschine Edition and the other just Maschine for the software but i have updated it through service center and it says 1.8.2 (R247)

    for the driver, im not also sure what the version was originally but im updating it to 3.0.1, trying, at least.

    i also tried it on 4 of my usb slots and would still be the same. :(
     
  15. mono

    mono

    the invisible visible
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Posts:
    1,005
    try uninstalling the driver and reinstalling the latest driver version without maschine being connected
     
  16. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332

    the guy i bought it from said there were no problems and that any damage mustve been after he have sent it.


    done that with ableton, didnt want to go through with turning off the internet everytime i made something.
    one of the reasons why i bought this maschine...
     
  17. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332
    tried that too, every variation you can think of. but thanks bro.

    just sent a message to tech support, hopefully they get back to me asap before my vacation time is all gone... :(
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2014
  18. Fade

    Fade

    VIP Member
    Beat Scientist
    Administrator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Posts:
    14,169
    I think that's your best bet, contacting tech support. It's either the unit itself or the driver doesn't like your computer for whatever reason.

    Don't give up though, once it's all set up, you'll love Maschine.
     
  19. thedreampolice

    thedreampolice

    blue is greener than purple for sure...
    Moderator
    *** ill o.g. ***
    Battle Points:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,262
    Oh yea, maschine is fantastic! And you should not have to shut off the internet, that's odd...
     
  20. Bugsy

    Bugsy

    ILLIEN
    Battle Points:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Posts:
    332

    I also tried looking for answers on the NI forums and it seems that Maschine and Windows doesnt get along well...

    i meant for Ableton, the one i got from a torrent website.
    the internet has to be shut down cause it automatically updates or something, i think that theyre the only DAW with that kind of Anti Piracy stuff, i might be wrong....But the Maschine tho...:(