Interviews Interview With Producer Gyal

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
producergyal.jpg

Being the only active female IllMuzik member, Producer Gyal was able to beat out all of her opponents in our latest Battle That! Competition. She took the time out of her busy schedule to answer a few questions. Read on...

Do you think/feel like there's a unique feminine touch in your music?

Um, I never thought about it actually. People do say that I have a special sound. Personally I don't hear it. It's true that I use a lot of smooth instruments so maybe that makes it sound feminine? I don't know. If people can feel it and call it feminine I really don't mind. My sound is very R&B... for now.

What's your main goal in life?

I prayed a lot about that. I'm presently in school. I'm studying to be a social worker and thinking of many other fields in tutoring. But honestly, I know that I won't be happy doing that for a living. I'm doing this to have something to fall on and make my parents happy (LOL). But, these past couple of years God has given me a talent that I developed. Ever since I was young I wanted to be a pianist. I never took any formal training and somehow I can play almost anything by ear. Therefore, I feel that my calling is definitely something to do with music whether it be producing, arranging or even writing.

Would you like your future boyfriend/husband to be involved with music as well?

When I was young, my idea of a dream companion was someone that made me happy, who would be my best friend and be there for me regardless of what he chose to do in life. Naturally, being involved in music the way I am and having this burning passion in my soul for it, it would be ideal if that person who I described also had a musical talent or at least the same burning passion for it.

Would you encourage more women to get into producing music?