Interviews Cryptic One

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
crypticone1.jpg

CRYPTIC ONE: Producer, emcee, manager, label-owner and what not. Mostly known for being a member of the legendary ATOMS FAMILY, as well as successfully operating his own label - Centrifugal Phorce Records. This interview takes place a moment before his brand new solo album - 'Truth: Whole Truth, Half Truths, & Lies' - is hitting the shelves! Do not miss this captivating burrowing into Cryptic's covert state of mind!

Greetings, what's up? Please introduce yourself to our readers.

I am Cryptic One aka CP. I am 1/8th of the Atoms Family. I'm a producer, MC, label owner, record digger, mixing/recording engineer, shitty half assed web/graphic designer, and heavy smoker.

So, why Cryptic One? Where does this moniker come from? On second thought, would you change it or leave it as is?

Well my original MC/Graf name was Phazee, and I pretty much always rhymed in riddles that no one ever really understood what I was talking about. So I started saying in my rhymes "Phazee da cryptic one". Eventually I saw how wack the name Phazee was and I dropped it, kept Da Cryptic One, then later on decided to drop the "Da". Basically I'm happy with the name. It describes me; it describes my personality, my rhymes, etc., accurately. I don't rhyme cryptically on purpose; it's just how I naturally am. I like creating puzzles that need to be figured out because I like solving puzzles. I always have, even as a kid.

How was your childhood like? Have you dreamt of growing up or did you always want to stay a child?

I never want to grow up. I mean I can be a mature adult when I need to be. But when you stop joking, stop having fun, and so on, I feel like you are missing a large part of what life should be about.

Have you ever experienced racial discrimination?